Document Type

Graduate Project

Date of Degree Completion

Summer 2000

Degree Name

Master of Education (MEd)



Committee Chair

Andrea Bowman

Second Committee Member

Linda Beath

Third Committee Member

Luetta Monson


Howard Gardner's theory of Multiple Intelligences involves eight different ways to learn (linguistic, logical-mathematical, visual-spatial, bodily-kinesthetic, musical, naturalistic, interpersonal and intrapersonal). These categories of intelligence, along with the guidelines of Washington State's Essential Academic Leaming Requirements, were applied to thirty lessons that were derived from the fifth grade curriculum at Tieton Middle School in Tieton, Washington. The lessons reflect the fields of reading, writing, mathematics, science, social studies and health/fitness.