Date of Award

Summer 8-1-1966

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Education (MEd)



First Advisor

Edward A. Hungerford

Second Advisor

Herbert L. Anshutz

Third Advisor

Arley L. Vancil


Lawrence Durrell has written The Alexandria Quartet in a form he considers modern and which he has labeled a "continuum." In this continuum the first three novels of the quartet occur at the same place in time and treat the same characters and incidents with the point of view and interpretation changing in each of the novels; the fourth novel then constitutes a sequel. Throughout this general framework of abstract time established by the continuum, the motif of the grotesque is woven, constantly evident, attempting to force an awareness of the sordid aspects of humanity as well as those of a less unpleasant nature. When this awareness occurs, Durrell feels the view of humanity and life is more complete and therefore more real. This plea for the acceptance of reality, however, must also be seen in terms of the basic form of the novels, that of the continuum, which establishes the relativity of all aspects of the modern world. Thus, the reality sought, after an awareness of its possible existence is caused and a search is instigated, is itself only relative. And, since reality is relative, the modern truth of modern life must, therefore, also be relative.